Saria's Train Station

A Bump on the Road of my Life in the Internet

This is kind of a rant-y post to start the blog with, but also I have a lot to take out of my system. I hope it's not too bad.

I feel like Karma chose to hit me personally with Cohost.org's closure. Not long before, we had Xitter being suspended in Brazil, and through the despair of most other people and artists from here I just tried to maintain an optimistic outlook on it, not only because it was an important political measure, but also because it wouldn't be much more than a bump on people's lives in the bigger picture.

I still hold onto that opinion. Now that Richie Rocket stopped shitposting against the Brazilian Supreme Court and news show signs that he will give in and comply, as Bluesky actually started taking off thanks to it, Xitter's probably returning to the country sooner or later. My only personal hope is that artists have taken a note of actually paying attention to the news, to help mitigate the problems from any social platform's closure since they aren't eternal, can and will shut down for any reason, from the stupidest crybaby CEO act ever to more understandable ones.

Which brings me to Cohost's closure announced a few days after. Cohost was pretty much the measure I took and what helped me somehow keep my sanity through Xitter's suspension, as I had been using it as my main social media for a while. So I'm left scrambling as to find what to really do. Contrary to Xitter's easy replacement with Bluesky, Cohost is not so easy, and I come to the conclusion that making a web page is probably the closest I can get to what it offered, at least in regards to posting out there. But also making a website is hard, the month I was given isn't nearly enough, much less considering other things in life.

So for now I'm taking this temporary measure with bearblog. Cool platform, it doesn't seem to have everything I wish it did, and the paywall for things like image uploading is kind of sad, though understandable. But also I'm aware I just don't actually know what I want to do, I'm still scrambling like I said.

Making a personal page where people actively have to seek out what you're writing is intimidating, with the amount of self pressure I already put on myself on social media, there's this need I feel to try to make things interesting for people to read. On the other hand I feel like this can be a liberating experience where with no statistics or anything of the sort I can just learn to put things out there and not care about the outcome. Basically going harder on what Cohost offered...? Well, I just hope that's the case.

I think it might be unfair to think of this moment as a bump on the road because that is one hell of a bump, and the website represented much more... but on the other hand, like all social media, it still wasn't more than the people that inhabited in it.

I hope by making this blog I can be still present in the people who liked what I talked about there, and that it'll be an enjoyable experience to everyone, be it friends, followers, people who stumble onto the page, etc.

There's a lot of todos as of writing this post, like adding buttons to the blogs of people I like, but since footers are behind the paywall, I'll wait a bit on doing so (not doing very good on money rn, every R$ counts).

Also, there will be a lot of nonsense, but I hope you can bear with it for the good stuff!

#bearblog #cohost #en #ramblin